Album Review: The Resistance – Muse

Ah, so Muse’s long awaited new album is finally released. Did it disappoint me like how their previous album, Blackholes and Relevations did? Well, yes, actually. Their previous album sounded pretty experimental and mainstream pop-ish with most of the songs written about politics and as for The Resistance, it’s pretty much the same still but it sounds like a more very toned down version of Muse. Some of the songs sound quite old-school. Probably they were listening to some classic oldies or something when they were composing these songs. And for some reason to me, Matthew Bellamy’s voice sounds a little different too. Or just deeper, rather. Not sure if it’s a good sign.

“United States of Eurasia” sounds like Queen. The prechorus actually really sound like “We Are The Champions”. And outro of the song features one of Chopin’s piano songs but it’s apparently Bellamy’s version of it. I don’t get why he did that for. I thought “Uprising”‘s shuffle drumming sounds similar to a few of Marilyn Manson’s songs. Songs like “The Resistance” and “Unnatural Selection” impressed me with sweet riffs and melodies. “MK Ultra” is kind of a little glimpse of how they used to sound. The last three tracks in the album are a separated symphony. Sorry but to me it’s.. well, boring. Don’t get me wrong, I do know that they’re brilliantly done, absolutely beautiful, artistic, creative, used over 40 musicians to record, 3 parts of the symphony is about from destruction to rebirth, blabla etc etc; but I just don’t quite know how to enjoy it. Just like how I can’t really enjoy jazz music when I’m not watching and hearing it live.

Most of the songs from this album are indeed about democracy and conspiracies of the US government. It’s always hard to like songs with the political lyrics. Not unless they’re Rage Against the Machine’s songs. And it’s never gonna be easy for old fans like myself to accept this current Muse. I’ve tried not to compare this album to their first three ones but I’m still failing to truly enjoy the whole album.

Track listing:

1. Uprising
2. Resistance
3. Undisclosed Desires
4. United States of Eurasia (+Collateral Damage)
5. Guiding Light
6. Unnatural Selection
7. MK Ultra
8. I Belong to You (+Mon Cœur S’ouvre à Ta Voix)
9. Exogenesis: Symphony Part 1 (Overture)
10. Exogenesis: Symphony Part 2 (Cross-Pollination)
11. Exogenesis: Symphony Part 3 (Redemption)

Release date: 7th September 2009
Single(s): Uprising
My favourites: Resistance, Unnatural Selection
My rating: 3 / 5

FB Comments
Like & Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *