MIMMA2: Contender Fights ends, Grand Finals next

Stephen Onn vs Nicholas Jeffrey MIMMA2 Contender Fights 2014

Season 2 winners set to fight reigning MIMMA champions from season 1 in the Grand Finals on 25 October 2014

Much apologies, although I was excited when the second season of Tune Talk’s MIMMA (Malaysian Invasion Mixed Martial Arts) was announced, I haven’t been able to attend or catch a single fight of it thus far and hence the lack of coverage on this blog. MIMMA2 went across the nation to hold tryouts before bringing it back to where it all began at Paradigm Mall, Petaling Jaya for the Preliminaries, Quarters, Semis and lastly, the Contender Fights.

The Contender Fights just ended last weekend and according to Jason Lo (CEO of Tune Talk and co-founder of MIMMA), the live streaming on mimmalive.tunetalk.com had viewers from over 50 countries. The winners have fought through 5 stages this season and now all that’s left is Grand Finals, where they will get to face the champions from last season for the championship titles of respective weight divisions. State pride is on the line as well, are any of the fighters your hometown boy? Check it out;

MIMMA2 Contender Fights – Results

Flyweight (57 kg & below):
Muhammad Aiman (Negeri Sembilan) defeats Seah Zhang Yu (Penang)
via Referee Stoppage at 2.44 min in Round 2

Bantamweight (57 – 61.2 kg):
Jenarten Radhakrishnan (Selangor) defeats Ben Lee Kim Soon (Selangor)
via Retirement at 3.00 mins in Round 1

Featherweight (62 – 66 kg):
Joshua Khiew (Penang) defeats Khoo Teik Guan (Penang)
via Split Decision after 3 rounds

Lightweight (66 – 71 kg):
Mohd Rizal Ismail Celestial (Sabah) walkover (?)

Welterweight (71 – 77 kg):
Agilan a/l Thangalapani (Selangor) defeats Mohd Fakhrul Izzat (Johor)
via Submission (rear naked choke) at 1.36 min in Round 2

Middleweight (77.5 – 84 kg):
Stephen Onn Anak Jiengging (Sarawak) defeats Nicholas Jeffrey (Sarawak)
via TKO (strikes) at 0.45 min in Round 2

Heavyweight (93 – 120 kg):
Mohd Zulhanizam (Selangor) walkover (?)

Agilan vs Fakhrul MIMMA2 Contender Fights 2014

And with the results above, here are the MIMMA championship matchups;

Flyweight: Muhammad Aiman (Negeri Sembilan) vs Kenny Yap (Terengganu)
Bantamweight: Jenarten Radhakrishnan (Selangor) vs Prabu Somanaidu (Selangor)
Featherweight: Joshua Khiew (Penang) vs Keanu Subba (KL)
Lightweight: Mohd Rizal Ismail Celestial (Sabah) vs Mohd Hasrul (Selangor)
Welterweight: Agilan a/l Thangalapani (Selangor) vs Ooi Aik Tong (Penang)
Middleweight: Stephen Onn Anak Jiengging (Sarawak) vs Jim Chong (Johor)
Heavyweight: Mohd Zulhanizam (Selangor) vs Darren Solomon Low (Sabah)

How many of the reigning Malaysian amateur MMA champions will retain their belt, and how many of this season’s fighters will be crowned as new champions? Answers will come through battles at the coming MIMMA2 Grand Finals, happening on October 25th at Stadium Negara again and hopefully, like last year, a few ONE FC Superfights would be added to the card. With Peter Davis already announced to be fighting in ONE FC: Roar of Tigers on the 17th, perhaps Adam Kayoom would be featured in the main event instead this time.

For updates, stay tuned to my social channels: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Google+

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

FB Comments
Like & Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *